Friday, 8 October 2010

MBIs Take Harbour Ward council seat, Labour fails to offer candidate

Morecambe Bay Independent Geoff Walker has claimed the Harbour Ward council seat in a by-election held yesterday following the death of John Barnes.

The full results are as follows:

Ian Clift (Liberal Democrats): 68
Elliot Layfield (Conservative Party): 161
Fred McGlade (UK Independence Party): 86
Geoff Walker (Morecambe Bay Independents): 287

Despite trumpeting his plans to stand, it appears the Labour Party's proposed runner, Darren Clifford, failed to submit his nomination in time to be listed as a candidate. There is apparently some confusion in the Labour ranks as to how this happened.

Mr. Walker is already a member of the Harbour Ward Parish council alongside other MBIs, and a Morecambe Town councillor.

• Harbour Ward residents can contact Geoff via

Morecambe Town Councillors list

No comments: